23 January 2024 | AKSNA Annual Business Meeting

Alaska School Nutrition Association
1120 Huffman Rd. Ste. 24
PMB 791
Anchorage, AK 99515

23 January 2024
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. AKDT

BP Energy Center
1014 Energy Court
Anchorage, AK 99508

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

Voting Members

PresentName and Title
Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS, President *
Tanya Dube, SNS, President-elect
Trevor Bridgewater, SNS, Treasurer and Past-President (2022-2023) †
Sandie Ponte, Secretary, and Past-President (2021-2022)
Carlos Perez, Chairman, Communications Committee
Susan Pougher, Chairwoman, Public Policy and Legislation
Tiffany Kurani, NDRT, Chairwoman, Nutrition Standards & Education Committee
Sue Lampert, Past-President (2020-2021)
Quorum is established when five or more voting members are present
* The President votes only in the event of a tie
† The immediate Past-President votes in the event that they hold another position with voting rights

Non-voting Members

PresentName and Title
Tracy Hulett, Member At-large
Tonia Parfitt, Chairwoman, Awards and Recognitions Committee

III. Adoption of Agenda

IV. Consent Agenda

A. Membership Report

As of 9 January 2024

  • 106 Members
    • Director: 17
    • Manager: 67
    • Employee 14
    • State Agency: 6
    • Retired: 2
  • 13 in grace

V. President’s Report

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

A. Transparency

B. Bylaws Amendments

The AKSNA Board of Directors proffers the following amendments to Bylaws

C. President’s Awards

Recognition of members that have served the board and association

D. Dean Hamburg Award

Recognition of a member who has dedicated their career to serving school nutrition programs in Alaska.

VI. Treasurer’s Report

Trevor Bridgewater, SNS

VII. Standing Committee Reports

A. Public Policy & Legislation

Susan Pougher

B. Member Services

SNA has opened nominations for member awards in the categories of Director of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Employee of the Year. Please consider recognizing a member.

Nominate a Member

C. Communications

Carlos Perez

1. Mush On News

Carolos Perez

2. Web Site

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

3. Social Media

Trevor Bridgewater

D. Conference Committee

Tanya Dube, SNS

E. Food and Vendor Expo Committee

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

E. Nutrition Standards & Education Committee

Tiffany Kurani, NDRT

VIII. Ad-hoc Committee Reports

A. Contract Executive Director Committee

This committee has been tabled until February 2024

B. Awards & Recognition Committee

Tonia Parfitt

Arctic School Food Service Innovation Competition

IX. Member Comments and Testimony

Member comments and testimony

X. Unfinished Business

No unfinished business

XI. New Business


XII. Election

XIII. Adjournment

The next meeting will be 20 February 2024

Leave a Reply