9 January 2024 | AKSNA Regular Board Meeting

Alaska School Nutrition Association
1120 Huffman Rd. Ste. 24
PMB 791
Anchorage, AK 99515

9 January 2024
2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. AKDT

The meeting is hosted on Zoom and is open to all members in good standing. To request the Zoom link and password, contact Gavin Northey, AKSNA President, by emailing president@aksna.org.

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

Voting Members

PresentName and Title
Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS, President *
Tanya Dube, SNS, President-elect
Trevor Bridgewater, SNS, Treasurer and Past-President (2022-2023) †
Sandie Ponte, Secretary, and Past-President (2021-2022)
Carlos Perez, Chairman, Communications Committee
Susan Pougher, Chairwoman, Public Policy and Legislation
Tiffany Kurani, NDRT, Chairwoman, Nutrition Standards & Education Committee
Sue Lampert, Past-President (2020-2021)
Quorum is established when five or more voting members are present
* The President votes only in the event of a tie
† The immediate Past-President votes in the event that they hold another position with voting rights

Non-voting Members

PresentName and Title
Tracy Hulett, Member At-large
Tonia Parfitt, Chairwoman, Awards and Recognitions Committee

III. Adoption of Agenda

IV. Consent Agenda

A. Minutes of Previous Meeting(s)

B. Financial Reports

C. Membership Report

  • 106 Members
    • Director: 17
    • Manager: 67
    • Employee 14
    • State Agency: 6
    • Retired: 2
  • 13 in grace

V. President’s Report

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

A. Plan of Action submitted

The format of the report has changed, however, I have submitted the report with similar substance as previous years

B. Board Retreat and March Meeting

Board members should have received a poll regarding the Board Retreat and March Meeting

C. Nominations / Elections

Reminder that nominations and elections will open soon

VI. Treasurer’s Report

Trevor Bridgewater, SNS

VII. Standing Committee Reports

A. Public Policy & Legislation

Susan Pougher

B. Member Services

Reminder, start thinking of members who are deserving of a Director of the Year, Manager of the Year, and Employee of the Year award. SNA will open nominations soon.

C. Communications

Carlos Perez

1. Mush On News

Carolos Perez

2. Web Site

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

3. Social Media

Trevor Bridgewater

D. Conference Committee

Tanya Dube, SNS

E. Food and Vendor Expo Committee

Gavin Northey, MBA, SNS

E. Nutrition Standards & Education Committee

Tiffany Kurani, NDRT

VIII. Ad-hoc Committee Reports

A. Contract Executive Director Committee

This committee has been tabled until February 2024

B. Awards & Recognition Committee

Tonia Parfitt

IX. Member Comments and Testimony

Member comments and testimony

X. Unfinished Business

No unfinished business

XI. New Business


XII. Announcements / Good of the Order

XIII. Adjournment

The next meeting will be 20 February 2024

Leave a Reply